On Thanksgiving Eve

I’m feeling a bit bereft tonight, thinking of family gathering tomorrow in Pennsylvania for a feast of turkey and mashed potatoes, stuffing and pie. This is my fourth Thanksgiving spent in England, though I can barely remember the first two. Actually, my second Thanksgiving here was spent preparing to be married two days later–a memorable time in my life, but not because of the holiday. The first Thanksgiving was basically another day, as was the third, and now, tomorrow, the fourth. James is expecting a friend to come over after school, and we will feed them fish and chips for their “tea,” as the Brits call the early evening meal fed to children. I might get ambitious and make chicken stir fry for the rest of us later.

It’s not the food so much as it is the people I’ll miss, the spirit of the day, the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day parade, the kick-off to Christmas, the frost on the grass in the morning, the warmth of the coffee sipped with my parents after breakfast. My children’s excitement at being with their much-loved grandparents, cousins, and aunt and uncle. I don’t miss the 7-hour drive we would have made today from Ohio to my parents’ home, on the busiest travel day of the year. (Oh, how I don’t miss that…)

This Thanksgiving, I am thankful. I’m thankful for my family, near and far. For my two children who have given up so much this year and don’t (yet) seem to hate us for asking them to give up their house, friends, schools, cats. I’m thankful for their hugs and kisses and that they still let me hold their hands. I’m thankful that my husband and I are still here, still together after nearly 15 years of marriage, though I can honestly say that some of those years have kicked us hard and beaten us to the ground. I’m thankful that Simon has a job, at last, and I’m hopeful I’ll have one soon too.

I’m also thankful for you, dear reader, wherever you may be, whether you observe Thanksgiving or not. I’m glad you visit me at my little online home and share a bit of our journey.

If the only prayer you said in your whole life was, “thank you,” that would suffice.  ~Meister Eckhart

5 thoughts on “On Thanksgiving Eve

  1. Kate

    The only thing I miss about TG is the four-day weekend to get all of the Christmahannukwanzolstice preparations finished. I don’t get any real cleaning or organizing done now until Christmas week, and I have reorganized my card list to about 5 new year’s cards and a bunch of quick catch-up emails. Spring cleaning now has to wait until (gasp!) spring!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

