Highways and Byways

I’m not a huge fan of driving in any nation, but driving on the left side of the road in the right side of the car….well, I don’t like it. I’m used to it, I manage, and I don’t freak out too much on smaller roads, but give me a big motorway and I get nervous. (Put my husband in the passenger seat and I’m afraid I get more nervous.) It doesn’t help that, 15 years ago, before we moved to the States, I had a major accident on a very busy motorway that resulted in one totaled car and some cracked ribs and weeks of pain for me. That was not my best moment (and here’s my public service announcement: wear your seatbelt!).

But let’s not talk about motorways today. Let’s talk about funny country roads, where the speed limit is 60 but the road twists and turns and is generally too narrow for cars to pass each other.

Roads like this:

It's narrower than it looks

And yes, the speed limit on a road like this really is 60 mph. Nevermind that roads like this often border farms and it’s quite likely you’ll meet a rather large tractor and have to back up several hundred yards to allow it to pass. Or pull into a lay-by to make room for the oncoming car.

Luckily, most people drive well below the speed limit on these roads. My speed on a road like this tends to be about 28 mph. Boy racers will tackle these roads at 60 mph, just because. If you suffer from motion sickness, a road like this is not for you. (Ahem. You know who you are.)

Next up, a very strange “byway” sign that I spied at the back entrance to my son’s school.

Feel free to drive your horse and carriage here.

Now, let me show you what you’re driving your horse and carriage down:

I hope your horse and carriage are very bendy.

4 thoughts on “Highways and Byways

  1. Lisa W. Rosenberg

    Virginia, while I can not imagine driving on the left side–not having a great sense of direction as it is–your photographs make me want to get on a plane right now! (LOL) Best wishes for safety and fun!

    Reply
    1. virginiaw Post author

      Oh Lisa, I have zero sense of direction myself! I told my husband before we moved that he either had to get me a driver or a GPS. I got the GPS. 🙂

      Thanks for reading!

      Reply
  2. Julie Farrar

    I have a life goal to finally drive comfortably in the UK. Last time I tried was on the Isle of Skye. Even though the single-track roads were practically empty, there were suicidal sheep always wondering into my path and I panicked every time a truck came the other way. I’m slightly dyslexic so I couldn’t think fast enough to know in those split second events if I was turning the wheel right or left. But I still want to master it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

