Tell Ya What I Want

StuffedBeefandCheeseSopapillaWhat I really, really want…

(If, in your head, you were singing along and finished that sentence with, “I really really really wanna zig-a-zig-ah” then I know you belong to a certain generation that heard far too much of that minimally talented pop group known as the Spice Girls.)

What do I really want? Besides all Spice Girls music to disappear from the planet, and the obvious things: world peace, to drop 10 pounds without even trying, for chocolate to become an all-you-can-eat health food, and for my children to stop discussing bodily functions at mealtimes, I really, really, really want a decent Mexican restaurant.

I’m hoping such a thing exists somewhere in this nation, though all of the Brits I’ve polled so far (admittedly, a fairly small number) agree with me that there is no such thing here. Every so many months I start to crave real, homemade salsa, still-warm homemade tortilla chips, a decent burrito.

And today is that day.

While Britain is known for its scones, cream teas, Sunday roast dinners, and really good Indian food–and I appreciate all those things, I really do–England just doesn’t do Mexican. Fair enough. It has no ties to Mexico, no Mexican immigrants, no shared border . . . but is one good restaurant too much to ask?

If anyone out there knows of a real, authentic (ok, authentically-inspired?) Mexican restaurant in this great nation, please let me know. Don’t worry, I won’t hold my breath.

4 thoughts on “Tell Ya What I Want

    1. virginiaw Post author

      Estina, I think I’ll skip this one, as one of the reviews mentions two separate, rather unfortunate barfing issues! Of course, I don’t know what they were drinking, but even so…I’ll pass. 🙂
      Hugsxxx

      Reply
  1. hiyacynthia

    I feel so bad for you! We have awesome ones here run by actual Mexicans who know what they’re doing! Sending El Vaquero, El Rancherito, Puerta Vallarta, and other restaurant local yummy thoughts your way! :0)

    Reply
  2. Sara Williams

    You need to come to London! Specifically, east London, on a Sunday afternoon. There, within walking distance of Columbia Rd flower market is where you’ll experience real Mexican food. Served piping hot, with all the extras, wrapped in paper and eaten on the street. Amazing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

