Fruit Tea Loaf

 

P1040896Hey, look at that! It’s Tasty Tuesday again . . . and I’m squeezing a post in at the last minute. I hope this one will appeal to some of my pickier readers (*cough cough* Kate). It’s so yummy even my picky eater likes it–though if I told him it had orange and lemon peel in it I expect he’d change his mind.

On with the recipe:

60ml/4 Tbsp hot tea (I use black tea)
200gr/1 cup mixed dried fruit — raisins, currants, sultanas, lemon peel and orange peel* (for my British readers, I use Whitworth’s–and the recipe is from the back of their Juicy Mixed Fruit packet!)
225g/1 cup plain (all-purpose)  flour
1 tsp baking powder
100g/ .5cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
100g/ .5 cup light brown sugar
1 medium egg, beaten
3-4 Tbsp milk

1. Preheat the oven to Gas 4/180C/350F. Grease and line the base of a loaf tin.

2. Mix the tea with the fruit. Sieve the flour and baking powder into a bowl and rub in the butter until it resembles breadcrumbs.

3. Stir in the sugar and egg and add the fruit mixture. Mix well with enough milk to make a dropping consistency.

4. Put into the loaf tin and bake for 50 or 60 minutes until golden. Test for doneness with a skewer. Turn out and cool. Once cool, wrap and keep for 24 hours before slicing.** Delicious with butter.

*If you can’t find currants or sultanas, substitute raisins.

**If you can wait 24 hours, you are a better person than I.

I used the Diana’s Desserts website to help me convert metric to cups.

Tasty Tuesdays on HonestMum.com

9 thoughts on “Fruit Tea Loaf

  1. Kate's Blank Slate

    Also… What is the difference between raisins, currants, and sultanas? And remind me again, which flour is all-purpose flour in UKI? My baking keeps failing because I never remember which flour is which (and because I didn’t know that Irish medium eggs are the same size as American large eggs). Our lives are hard.

    Reply
    1. Ginny Williams Post author

      Ok, never really thought about egg size–perhaps that explains a few things re: my baking? Plain flour is the same as all-purpose flour. I think you know what a raisin is, a currant is a small dried red seedless grape (smaller than a raisin), and a sultana is essentially an American golden raisin.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

