Madeira Cake

I really like this #TastyTuesday thing—though my focus on cake could perhaps be re-directed to traditional English vegetables, like tatties & neeps (potatoes & parsnips), or swede (I don’t really get swede . . . kind of like a parsnip, kind of like a radish?). My midriff might thank me for the change in focus, but I do love a good cake. And cookie. And pie . . . .

This week I’m serving up Madeira Cake. I can’t recall ever eating it anywhere and I’m not sure how popular it is for home bakers to make. It’s similar to what Americans would know as pound cake, and equally delicious. The origins of Madeira cake stem back to the 19th century; it would’ve been fairly customary to offer guests to your home a slice of this cake and a glass of sweet dessert wine known as Madeira. Fear not, if you don’t have a glass of Madeira to accompany this cake, it is perfectly lovely with coffee or tea.

Madeira Cake

8 ounces/1 cup/2 sticks butter
1 cup/225 grams sugar
4 eggs
2 cups/220 grams flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon grated lemon peel

1. Preheat the oven to 325°F/160°C.

2. Grease a 9-inch loaf pan and set aisde. Cream the butter and sugar.

3. Beat the eggs in a bowl over a pan of hot water and add them to the butter and sugar. Sift the flour and baking powder in a separate bowl and fold them into the mix. Add the lemon peel and pour the batter into the loaf pan.

4. Smooth the top and bake for 30 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

5. Allow the cake to cool for a few minutes before removing it from the pan, then allow to cool completely on a wire rack.

This recipe called for the addition of 3 strips of citron peel—now I don’t know what citron is, so I Googled it and discovered it’s a type of citrus fruit. Obviously, I omitted it from the recipe though I would suggest, in addition to the lemon peel, adding in the juice of the lemon too for extra flavor. If you have citron and use it for this cake, send me a photo, will you? And tell me what the taste is like.

This recipe was taken from Great British Cooking.

Tasty Tuesdays on HonestMum.com

3 thoughts on “Madeira Cake

  1. petiteraisin

    This sounds really delicious! I like your idea of gearing recipes towards being able to bare a midriff….although this pregnant belly has a LOONG way to go 😉

    #TastyTuesdays

    .:Marta @petiteraisin.ca:.

    Reply
    1. Ginny Williams Post author

      At least you have an excuse! My last excuse is nearly 10 years old! Sadly, British vegetables just aren’t as much fun as cake. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

